You are here
Home > MOTO HEADLINES > Coldenhoff makes GasGas MXGP history

Coldenhoff makes GasGas MXGP history

Glenn Coldenhoff gave GasGas its first MXGP overall win in only the factory’s third world championship round in hot and sweaty Latvia.

He took second in the opener after losing the lead when he made a mistake and running off the track, handing the win to Tim Gajser. Then in race two the Dutchman led from Gajser until the world champ went down hard. Coldehoff stayed at the front to take the win from Jeremy Seewer and Romain Febvre. It was enough to give Coldenoff the overall from Gajser – who bounced back to take fifth in the moto – then Febvre.

The crash prevented Gajser taking the red plate off Jeffrey Herlings who had a tough time in the conditions, perhaps still feeling the ill effects from a crash a few weeks ago where he banged his head.

Herlings went down hard in the morning qualifying, and was just inside the top ten at the start of the first moto. He found it difficult to move forward but, helped by mistakes from Arnaud Tonus and Gautier Paulin, eventually found his rhythm and took fourth place.

Second time out Herlings went down in the first corner but came back through to fourth – helped when Gajser went down. It gave Herlings fifth overall.

Nine times world champ Tony came from outside the top 15 at the start of race one to take seventh, but crashed in race two and took 17th. He lost third in the series to Coldenhoff.

Adan Sterry had a 23rd and 26th place finishes for his new Hitachi KTM team while fellow KTM rider Shaun Simpson went down hard in the first race and retired. He failed to score in both motos.

In the MX2 class, KTM’s Tom Vialle took the overall win to extend his championship lead over Jago Geerts who had a disasterous race one, but bounced back in moto two to take the race win.

Vialle and Geerts soon led the opener then Geerts went down. He remounted and was coming through the pack but then fell again and was heavily detuned, finishing 16th. Vialle took the win from Roan Van De Moosdijk and Ruben Fernandez, with Briton Ben Watson a good sixth. Josh Gilbert took a point for 10th while Conraw Mewse was 28th and Ashton Dikcinson 34th.

In race two Geerts battled for the lead with Vialle, chased by Mathys Boisrame. Vialle led until half distance when Geerts took the lead. He held it until right at the end of the race when Vialle lunged past going onto the last lap. But Geerts retailiated and took the lead and the win, with Vialle second but safe for the overall win.

Roan Van de Moosdijk toook second overall with a second and fourth while Boisrame took third overall after Fernandez fell.

himself a podium. Watson took fifth in the moto for fifth overall but a Mewse didn’t finish the moto. Gilbert took 18th for some more points whole Dickinson was just outside in 22nd