You are here
Home > MOTO HEADLINES > Just four Brits in GP teams list

Just four Brits in GP teams list

There are just four British riders in the list of officially approved teams for the 2020 world championships – Adam Sterry and Shaun Simpson in MXGP, with Conrad Mewse and Josh Gilbert in MX2. That makes it one of the worst ever championships in terms of British entrants in the history of the sport.

MXGP regulars Tommy Searle and Max Anstie are obvious omissions, as Searle will race for Buildbase Honda in the UK and only do selected wildcard GPs, while Anstie is USA bound for Suzuki.

It’s good to see veteran Kevin Strijbos entered in the MXGP class after he admitted he might have to quit pro racing this year. He has confirmed he’ll be on a Suzuki RMZ450. British MX2 champ Dylan Walsh, whose 2019 team Revo has quit, is not on the list. He is going to race in Australia for a Yamaha team

The official list gives a breakdown of the teams that have currently entered into the 2020 season of racing along with the riders who will represent them. As it stands, the list has 45 teams entered for the MXGP and MX2 championships.  

The 2020 FIM Motocross World Championship will kick-off in Europe on the 29th February – 1st March in Matterley Basin for the MXGP of Great Britain, then the championship will head to Valkenswaard for the MXGP of the Netherlands before we head to South America for the first fly-away event for the MXGP of Patagonia Argentina in Neuquen.