You are here
Home > MOTO HEADLINES > MXGP > A weekend of British passion set for Matterley Basin

A weekend of British passion set for Matterley Basin

The green and grassy hillsides of Matterley Basin are known around the motorsport world and have hosted MXGP races year after year since 2006. This famous setting for motocross is the exclusive host of only one race per year and will again come to life this weekend with the world’s best fighting for the top spots along with the always passionate British motocross fans!

The MXGP of Great Britain has long been on the MXGP calendar and the Matterley Basin circuit has hosted the event for the past years with some of the most intense racing of the championship taking place here time and time again. Last year the MXGP racing was one of the most memorable all year as Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings went head to head with Antonio Cairoli in dramatic fashion.

This year Cairoli returns to Matterley Basin without the threat of Herlings but while the Dutchman recovers a swarm of other riders look to make their mark at the British venue. Among these top riders are the Brits themselves including BOS Factory’s Tommy Searle, Standing Construct KTM’s Max Anstie, and RFX KTM’s Shaun Simpson.

Cairoli’s track record at Matterley Basin is by far one of the most impressive with 4 overall victories in the 8 GPs he has contended here with his worst finishes being 7th in 2013 and 6th in 2016 while the other two occasions he finished 2nd. Searle has raced here nearly as many times including 7 GPs and the 2017 Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations where he and Anstie took team GB to the podium for the first time in years. While Searle has only won here once in MX2 he has been on the podium 2 other occasions and in the top 5 twice as well.

MX1 Race 1 from 2018

Max Anstie is the true hometown hero however and although he has only reached the top 5 twice in the seven GPs he raced at Matterley the most impressive performance in his career came here in 2017 when he went 1-1 at the prestigious Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations.

Aside from the Brits and the current point leader, Cairoli, the traditional list of podium competitors remains consistent with the addition of Honda SR Motoblouz rider Jeremy Van Horebeek. Van Horebeek’s performance at the MXGP of Patagonia Argentina was like that of David vs. Goliath as he made the last-minute privateer effort pay off for 3rd overall. Van Horebeek has also been on the MXGP podium in Britain once before during the 2014 season.

The threats for the win at Matterley Basin are endless but other riders to watch are the always strong Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing team rider Clement Desalle and Team HRC’s Tim Gajser, who is currently second in the championship after being the closest to Cairoli throughout the season opener. Desalle was 4th last year and has been on the podium 3 times including his win here in 2013 while Gajser was 5th last year but won the overall in 2016.

MX1 Race 2 from 2018

Additional riders of interest include Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing’s Dean Ferris who fills in for the injured Romain Febvre plus the Rockstar Energy Factory Racing’s Arminas Jasikonis and Pauls Jonass. Ferris has been confirmed in MXGP for the next three rounds and raced the Matterley Basin track in 2017 for team Australia in the Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations event while Arminas Jasikonis had a strong debut of 6th in Patagonia and Jonass, was the 2018 MX2 winner here.

2018 MXGP of Great Britain MXGP Top 3:

  1. Jeffrey Herlings
  2. Antonio Cairoli
  3. Romain Febvre

Leave a Reply