You are here
Home > MOTOCROSS NEWS EXTRA > Grimshaw represents UK in YZ125 Cup

Grimshaw represents UK in YZ125 Cup

Tom Grimshaw is the only British rider to make it through the finals of the YZ125Cup SuperFinale at the Veltins Arena in Germany on October 8. The youth riders will line up for a full evening of races to find out which six motocross stars of the future will qualify for shot at a 2017 professional contract and a new 2017 YZ125 GYTR. An additional two riders will be chosen by off-road experts from among the YZ125 Cup riders at the Veltins Arena to attend the Masterclass with former MXGP World Champion David Philippaerts.

The YZ125Cup will be broadcast live via satellite on sports television channels across Europe and on the internet, so friends and family back home can tune in and watch their hometown heroes race for the podium during the SMX Riders’ and Manufacturers’ Cup live from Germany.

The eight finalists will meet again in Italy at the end of October and sit shoulder to shoulder with experts from Yamaha’s top professional MXGP teams, where they will learn from the insiders about what it takes to get to the top of the off-road world. Lectures and demonstrations from chief mechanics, Yamaha engineers, personal trainers, medical staff and riders will pass on the valuable knowledge earned at World Championships over the years, all to prepare one top YZ125Cup rider for the 2017 EMX125 Championship in an official Yamaha team.

On-track training with Philippaerts will include tips and techniques for professional motocross, with off-track lessons in proper nutrition, physical preparation and a GYTR kit parts workshop to show how professionals and weekend warriors alike get to the top of the podium on the wide line of Yamaha off-road motorcycles.

When the dust from the YZ125Cup settles at the Veltins Arena on the big night, the action will continue with the 2016 Monster Energy SMX Race. A new format in European motocross with top Yamaha motocross stars Romain Febvre, Benoit Paturel and Brent Van Doninck on an indoor dirt track with outdoor style.

The following riders from around Europe have qualified for the 2016 YZ125 Cup SuperFinale at the Veltins Arena in Gelsenkirchen, Germany. (*) = to be confirmed.

  • Belgium – Matthew Lefevere
  • FInland – Adam Holm, Santeri Keränen, Joonas Näppi (Wildcard)
  • France – Anthony Calistri, Calvin Fonvielle, Alexis Colignon*
  • Germany – Ben Gosepath, Theo Braun
  • Greece – Skordas Stylianos, Dimitrios Touratzidis*
  • Italy – Nicolo Folli, Lorenzo Rossi, Francesco Bassi
  • Netherlands – Max Schwarte, Jeroen Bussink
  • Norway – Råg Rindal, Eriksen Eskil
  • Portugal – Bruno Charrua
  • Spain – Gervasio Cañas, Hugo Arriazu, Ivan Lacuesta
  • Sweden – Tim Edberg, Arvid Luning, Rasmus Holm, Hugo Johannson
  • Switzerland – Jan Müller, Janik Vogel, Flavio Wolf
  • UK – Tom Grimshaw

Leave a Reply