You are here
Home > MOTO HEADLINES > Italy and Belgium announce Nations teams

Italy and Belgium announce Nations teams

Italy and Belgium revealed the Motocross of Nations teams for the event at Matterley Basin in Hamshire on October 1. Team Manager and Coach Thomas Traversini presented the Italian line up; leading the effort in the MXGP division will be Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli, for the third year in a row HRC MX2’s Michele Cervellin is part of Team Italy and he will race in MX2, rounding out the team will be Team Honda Redmoto Assomotor’s Alessandro Lupino in the OPEN class.

Cairoli shared his good memories coming from 2006 edition of Motocross of Nations taking place in Matterley Basin and last year’s edition taking place in Maggiora and he stated: “Every year we try to do better and better with our Team. Now we have some experience and for sure we try to get on the Podium”.

Alessandro Lupino spoke about his teammates: “With Tony we know that we have one of the best guys in the world and Michele he puts in a lot of work and he pushes hard. I hope that we will again do well again like in 2013 and return to the podium.”

Michele Cervellin concluded: “For me the Motocross of Nations is always a special event, last year I did the OPEN class, so I’m excited this year to compete in MX2”


Team Belgium Manager Joel Smets joined the Belgian line up of by Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team’s Clement Desalle in MXGP, LRT’s Julien Lieber in MX2, and Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team’s Jeremy Van Horebeek in the OPEN division.

Joel Smets and the Belgian riders, Desalle, Lieber, and Van Horebeek all voiced their confidence in the teams potential to win with Van Horebeek saying: “I think it will be a great weekend, we all know how to ride a bike, we always have a strong team, and we are always motivated for that event. The podium is the minimum because when we go there it is to win.”

Leave a Reply