You are here
Home > MOTO HEADLINES > British Racing > MX Nationals heads to Lyng

MX Nationals heads to Lyng

After two successful rounds, the Michelin MX Nationals powered by Milwaukee heads to Lyng, Norfolk this weekend and nearer the half way stage of the championship. The Cadders Hill circuit is rich in history and is one of the toughest in the U.K and, no doubt, will once again produce some great racing. With 26 races and 12 different classes over two days of racing there’s plenty of on track action at the MX Nationals and the sand based circuit will definitely add to the challenge. 

In the Leatt MX1 Elite championship, defending champion Harri Kullas (Cab Screens Crescent Yamaha) will be looking to take the red plate off current series lead Josh Gilbert (SC Sportshomes / Stebbings Car Superstore Husqvarna) as he’s only four points behind and Gilbert will be out of action as he’ll be attending the first round of the AMA Pro Motocross series in California. Team-mates Stuart Edmonds and Martin Barr (Apico Husqvarna) are currently tied on points in third and fourth and will be looking to advance with Gilbert out and be top dog in the Apico camp. Tommy Searle (Crendon Fastrack Hitachi Honda) who didn’t make the best of starts in the championship is now starting to claw his back up the leader board and will look to get his first MX Nationals overall win of 2022 as he’s currently in a rich vein of form. 

Tom Grimshaw (Chambers Husqvarna) took his first ever pro overall victory last time out at Landrake in the Apico MX2 Elite MX2 and with it the championship lead, so he’ll be keen to do all he can to keep hold of that red plate coming out of Lyng. Last year’s runner up Carlton Husband (Phoenix Tools / Even Strokes Kawasaki) is right there though, only six points back and will be applying as much pressure on Grimshaw as possible if his injured foot from last weekend is healed.

Round one winner Jamie Carpenter (GRT Impact KTM) had a rough ride at Landrake and had to miss the second moto to take a trip to the hospital for a nasty laceration to his upper arm after a first corner crash, so he’ll be determined to get back to winning ways and move up from third on the championship. Calum Mitchell (Fabrican Racing Team), who currently sits in fourth, is no stranger to Lyng and is only seven points behind Carpenter. Two points further back is the hard charging Lewis Hall (LHR Husqvarna) on his 250 2 stroke and he’ll be a threat in the tough, sandy conditions which are more to his liking.

Of course it’s not just about the Elite riders at the MX Nationals, the youth, clubman, amateur and expert classes are the backbone of the championship and provide equally as exciting racing and battle just as hard, as we’ve seen down the years. Once again, you’ll be able to watch all the action on the free to view live stream on MXN TV on Youtube and Facebook. There’ll be continual, uninterrupted coverage covering every race on Sunday from 9.30am

Advanced spectator and camping tickets are available at priced at £20 for spectating (single cost for both days) and camping at £10 per vehicle and also available on entry at the gate.

Track postcode: NR9 5AL
Current championship standings
Leatt Elite MX1
1 Josh Gilbert 952 Harri Kullas 913 Stuart Edmonds 574 Martin Barr 575 Tommy Searle 506 John Adamson 467 Glen McCormick 458 Petar Petrov 429 Jake Millward 4110 Shaun Simpson 40
Apico Elite MX2
1 Tom Grimshaw 832 Carlton Husband 773 Jamie Carpenter  664 Calum Mitchell 595 Lewis Hall 576 Jay Hague 567 Jamie Law 558 Rossi Beard 469 Florien Miot 4510 Adam Collings 45
RFX Expert MX1
1 Shaun Southgate 1682 Jayden Ashwell 1663 Charlie Putman 1514 Jordan McCaw 1365 Richard Bird 1166 Josh Waterman 1127 Luke Mellows 878 James Dodd 759 Jamie Dixon 7510 Glen Phillips 67
RFX Expert MX2
1 Louie Kessell 1542 Josh Coleman 1443 Bailey Johnson 1314 Sam Atkinson 1225 Jack Lindsay 1156 Jimmy Margetson 1137 Aaron Ongley 1088 Ollie Beamish 1059 Ben Clark 8510 Kieren Yorke 80
Motoverde Amateur MX1
1 Harry Bradley  1782 Billy Wynn 1343 Joshua McCorkell 1214 Lewis Taylor 1205 Aaron Gardiner  1186 David Rushton 1017  Callum Gordon 938 Ross Millward 819 John Kirk 7810 Dan Holliday  72
Motoverde Amateur MX2
1 Luca Pegg 1852 Dan Brough  1713 Lewis King London 1184 Logan Wilcox 1165  Harry Foster 1096 Alex Buchanan  1087 Arnis Peberz 948 Archie Hicks 939 Lewis Glynn 8610 Sam Ongley 81
Worx Sports Insurance Clubman MX1
1 Connor Baldry  1702 Mitch Best  1613 Billy Saunders 1284 Grant Martin 1205 Adam Reeve 1126 James Thomson 997 Michael Graham 948 Ivan Kerr 929 Keaton Stewart 7810 Ash Senior  71
Moto Connection Clubman MX2
1 Ben Wainwright 1612 Richy Roberts 1253 Matthew Pocock 1244 Max Fletcher  1175 Tom Haddock 1056 George Boyce 917 Toby Lightbown 818 Ryan Gardiner 789 Charlie West 7810  Mitchil Collins 72
Seven Youth 250cc
1 Tyler Westcott 1972 Jak Taylor 1633 Bayliss Utting 1404 Hudson Roper 1325 Finlay Evans 1176 Harvey Cashmore 1097 Aria Elcock 1048 Seth Manners 899 Mckenzie Marshall 8810 Leon Williams 85
Seven Youth 125cc
1 Charlie Heyman 2002 Ollie Colmer 1663 Tyla Hooley 1364 Ben Mustoe 1305 Leon Ongley  1126 Joe Brookes 887 Charlie Griffiths 888 Kayde Rayns 879 Cole McCullogh 8210 Raife Broadley  76
Syntol Lubricants BW85cc
1 Billy Askew 1832 Josh Vail 1703 Jake Walker 1454 Charlie Richmond 1285 Ollie Bubb 1236 Ryan Waggott 1167  Chester Hyde 1048 Freddie Gardiner 1039 Gus Mustoe 7610 Issac Ash 75
Syntol Lubricants SW85cc
1 Archie Jay Girdham 1972 Alfie Geddes Green 1663 Blake Ward Clarke 1524 Hayden Statt 1505 Joel Winstanly Dawson 1236 Lucus Moncrieff 1177 Finlay Pickering 1108 Danny Flude 1049 Maison Jones 8710 Ryan Clift 74