You are here
Home > MOTOCROSS NEWS EXTRA > Sherwood showdown for young aces

Sherwood showdown for young aces

Joel Winstanley-Dawson, Kalvin Kelly, Bailey Johnston, Jack Grayshon, Ike Carter, Aaron-Lee Hanson and Rossi Beard took the honours at the penultimate round of the BYN and Under-21 series after some fierce battles on the hardpack Mansfield ground at Sherwood.

In the Auto class Joel Winstanley-Dawson was on fire taking the first two opening motos of the weekend and second place in the final two motos. It was a special weekend for Winstanley-Dawson, as he won his first ever British Championship motos and with it he secured the overall for the weekend. Taking second position was Robbie Daly with Lucas Lee in third. Judd Orange Brigade’s Archie Britton, Marley Alder and Leo Wright rounded out the top six. Hayden Statt leads the standings ahead of Archie Britton and Winstanley-Dawson.

In the 65cc category there were some very close battles throughout the weekend and a few victories lost. Kalvin Kelly walked away with the weekend overall, whilst series’ leader Ashton Boughen took second place, just seven points shy of Kelly, having endured a difficult opening moto at the event. Taking third was Billy Askew with 1stCall Travel’s Shaun Mahoney in fourth. Ryan Waggott and Brandon Buckley completed the top six.

In the Small Wheel 85cc class the Judd Orange Brigade machine of Bailey Johnston was on the gas around the Sherwood circuit with a dominating performance. Johnston clinched the overall honours for the weekend with all four moto wins and he now leads the championship by 40 points. Second position was awarded to Wal Beaney, who had an unfortunate final moto following an incident, which left him with no option other than to just finish the race. Third place went to Team Green Kawasaki’s Ben Mustoe, who was closely followed by Reece Ross and Josh Vail who were just one point behind. Fin Wilson ended the weekend in sixth position.

In the Big Wheel 85cc class once again another Judd Orange Brigade machine was on the top step of the podium with rider Jack Grayshon. The KTM-racer took the overall and three of the four race wins, despite some unfortunate motos where the youngster came from dead last to battle through the pack. In second was Charlie Heyman who won moto two, whilst third went to Sam Atkinson, who retains his series’ lead, having enjoyed some close racing with second-in-the-standings Grayshon during the weekend. Completing the top six was Icelandic rider Mani Freyr Peturrson with Ethan Lane in fifth and Drew McCreanor in sixth.

The GL12 Racing machine of Ike Carter ended the weekend with the overall victory, and the series’ lead in the 125cc class ahead of the final round later in October on Weston-Super-Mare beach. It was a hard-fought weekend, with battles throughout the class, especially between the championship leaders. Drew Anderson had an unfortunate opening moto, which cost him the championship lead, but Sunday was a new day and Anderson was on form taking both moto wins whilst securing second position on the podium. Team GB representative Preston Williams, who raced at the Junior World Championship in Australia in August, earned third position in all four motos. Concluding the top six was Patrick Jackson, Max Ingham and James Smith.

In the Open category Aaron-Lee Hanson was unbeatable aboard his Judd Orange Brigade machine. Hanson took four moto wins from four starts, and walked away with the overall to extend his championship points lead. Taking second place on the podium was Dominic Lancett, who had an outstanding first British Open Class weekend having recently made the move from a 125cc to a 250F machine. Third place went to Aaron Colley and rounding out the top six was Josh Greedy, Alex Hudziak and Aaron Patstone.

In the Steve Benton Transport British Under 21 Championship James Mackrel and Rossi Beard were battling hard throughout the weekend with some very close to the line races. Ending the weekend on the top step was Beard with Mackrel taking second. Oliver Benton, Tommy Lee Morris and Howard Wainwright rounded up the top five. Beard leads the championship from Mackrel by six points.

The Dunlop Tyre Award for the fifth round was presented to Joel Winstanley-Dawson for his first ever British Youth Championship win and a second award was given to Finley Evans for getting back up after a big off to battle hard for the remainder of the weekend.

The MotoKing SCOTT Sports Holeshot Awards for round five were presented to Joel Winstanley Dawson, Max Harris, Ben Mustoe, Sam Atkinson, Ike Carter, Aaron Lee Hanson and Rossi Beard.

With no clear championship leaders across all classes the battles will go down to the line on October 27thand 28thon the beach at Weston-super-Mare.

For more information on the Judd KTM British Youth National Championship Powered by Parts Europe and the Steve Benton Transport British Under 21 Championship head over to

Leave a Reply