You are here
Home > MOTOCROSS NEWS EXTRA > ACU > Thornhill takes Blaxhall win

Thornhill takes Blaxhall win

Sunday saw the Woodbridge and DMCC club host their first and last race meeting of the 2020 season at the Blaxhall Circuit in a year when Covid-19 halted the sport. With the number of riders reduced, the meeting saw 160 riders tackle the demanding Suffolk venue.

A group winner Dan Thornhill

In the A Group several National riders and local Expert riders were competing and in the opening race British Championship rider Dan Thornhill made a strong start ahead of Newmarket youngster Sam Nunn until he suffered a crash. As the race progressed Tom Grimshaw charged from a first corner crash to pass Thornhill and take the victory. Luke Parker and Declan Whittle also both recovered from a bad start to finish third and fourth ahead of Reece Martin in fifth.

The second A Group race saw a great battle between Thornhill and Grimshaw after Thornhill made the start and took the early lead prior to Grimshaw moving ahead before Thornhill retook the lead and the race win. Behind the front pair Josh Peters took third with Charlie Putnum in fourth and Martin in fifth.

Tom Grimshaw flying high

The final race for the A Group saw Dan Thornhill and Luke Parker battle for the race win with Thornhill getting the advantage and taking the Overall victory on the day. Third place again went to Peters with Brad Thornhill in fourth and Martin in fifth.

In the B Group there was plenty of close racing as Matthew French took all three race wins for the overall, while Josh Deadman claimed second with a third and two seconds on the day ahead of Joe Phillips in third overall. Fourth overall went to Shane Brown and Lee Butson claimed fifth.

D Group Start

The C Group saw Jack Whitlam took the opening two race wins and the overall along with claiming the combined C and D Group at the end of the day. Second overall for the C Group went to Edward Jary and third to Mark Goodson.

In the D Group Lee Keyton took the overall win after finishing as the first D Group rider in the combined C and D final race. Second place tied on points with Keyton was Joshua Fullalove and Toby Souchotte in third.

D Group winner Lee Keyton

The event marked the end of a tough year and the club looks forward to 2021 when they hope to welcome spectators back to events at Blaxhall.

Report and Photos by Richard Blyth