You are here
Home > MOTOCROSS NEWS EXTRA > Wilkie walks to West Meon win

Wilkie walks to West Meon win

Former EMX 150 Champion, Albie Wilkie, swept the new EK1 class with three, well-earned victories as the EKSSC Summer Championship reignited with a bang, returning to West Meon for the season opener. Battling his way to the head of the pack throughout the day and asserting his dominance over the competition. Wilkie, aboard his Evo-Tech branded KTM, has set the standard for East Kent’s premier class early on this season.

In the Youth Open Class, it was Jack Carpenter pilfering the top step of the podium. Battling all day with Sam Ongley; Carpenter managed to position his KTM ahead of Ongley’s Yamaha in a great exhibition of racing. Ongley would go on to claim second overall, as Alfie Cox reeled home the final podium position. Last year’s Senior Class Champion, Ebby Elliot charged home with immense pace to clench the runner-up spot, while Sam Holloway placed his KTM 250 two-smoker in third.

Alfie Cox took his Honda to third
Alfie Cox took his Honda to third

In the Clubman class, the top three riders all proved that the group holds quality parallel to its quantity this season, providing an array of exciting racing. Alistair Patterson would be the first rider to claim an early championship lead, following three solid finishes, he emerged victorious, as Daniel Leathem and Lee White filled out the final podium places.

Close action in the chilly sunshine at West Meon
Close action in the chilly sunshine at West Meon

Both Big Wheel and Small Wheel classes delivered out-right victors also. Leon Ongley, moving up to Big Wheel following a successful year in 2017, continues with three solid moto wins. Ultimately granting him the overall and undoubtedly, kick-starting what will be a bountiful 2018 season for the young rider.

Reuben Bailey strung together consistent third place finishes to claim the runner up spot, as an unfortunate second moto for Beau Gosnell, forced him to settle for third. The Small Wheel class witnessed Boston Gilbert decimate the opposition, claiming all three race wins.

Tight formation racing in the 85s
Tight formation racing in the Small-wheel 85s as Boston Gilbert roosts his way to three wins

Josh Bassett, the Small Wheel Class’ reigning Champion, collected all three second place finishes to modestly grip second overall behind Gilbert. Bassett’s One Shot Racing team-mate, Jack Cappa positioned his TC85 just where it needed to be in the final moto, edging ahead of Freddie Taylor-Rye by a point, to snatch the final podium place.

The Junior Class belonged to Noah Eastwood who took all three moto victories and the overall. Riley Ingram and Joe Grainger finished on equal points, but Ingram edged ahead following a better finish in the final moto, stealing the runner-up spot as Grainger settled for third.

Archie Edwards was unbeatable
Archie Edwards was unbeatable

The Auto class saw MBO’s Archie Edwards storm ahead to claim the overall. Tricked out on his Husqvarna TC50, reigning champion Edwards once again took the top step of the podium as William Pearce fought hard all day to clench three consistent second place finishes, with Tyler Rogers grasping all final podium finishes on the day.

Small bikes but all action!
Small bikes but all action! Noah Eastwood was super fast in the juniors

For results at:

By Marc Carter. Photos by I D Bassett Photography and Marc Carter

Leave a Reply