You are here
Home > MOTO HEADLINES > All square in 250 East Supercross points race

All square in 250 East Supercross points race

Shane McElrath and current champ Chase Sexon share the points lead after the second of the 250 East clashes in the Salt Lake City Supercross – the first ever AMA SX held on a Wednesday night US time.

It was the early hours of Thursday morning UK time when Colt Nichols grabbed the holeshot from McElrath, Jace Owen, Pierce Brown and Sexton. Then disaster hit the champ as Sexton slid out and Brown ran into him. Both riders went down and Sexton picked himself up in 17th. He was quickly pushing hard through the pack. At the front, Nichols led from Yamaha team-mate McElrath and Owen who quickly lost touch. McElrath eventually took the lead.

At just over half distance, Sexton made his way into the top five with Daytona winner Garrett Marchbanks behind him. Fourth place Jalek Swoll was then ousted by Sexton and Marchbanks, as Kyle Peters also passed Swoll to get into sixth.

Sexton tried hard to catch Jeremy Martin for the final podium place but couldn’t do it. McElrath held on for the win from Nichols and Martin, to make the Yamaha man equal on points at the head of the championship.

112Shane McElrath
213Colt Nichols
36Jeremy Martin
41EChase Sexton
536Garrett Marchbanks
638Kyle Peters
7352Jalek Swoll
884Jo Shimoda
949Chris Blose
10163Pierce Brown
11159Jace Owen
1239Jordan Bailey
1343John Short
1459Joshua Osby
1547Lorenzo Locurcio
16981Curren Thurman
1756Justin Starling
1873Chase Marquier
19332Dustin Winter
20157Darian Sanayei
21185Wilson Fleming
2267Jerry Robin

Series standings

1Shane McElrath140
2Chase Sexton140
3Garrett Marchbanks118
4Jeremy Martin105
5Rj Hampshire80
6Jo Shimoda77
7Jalek Swoll74
8Enzo Lopes66
9Jordan Bailey64
10Pierce Brown54
11Jace Owen52
12Kyle Peters51
13Jordon Smith48
14Joshua Hill43
15John Short42
16Cedric Soubeyras35
17Colt Nichols31
18Joey Crown31
19Nick Gaines28
20Lorenzo Locurcio28
21Chris Blose25
22Curren Thurman25
23Justin Starling25
24James Decotis24
25Grant Harlan24
26Dustin Winter20
27Joshua Osby19
28Kevin Moranz19
29Chase Marquier18
30Hunter Sayles13
31Jerry Robin11
32Richard Jackson6
33Carter Halpain5
34Isaac Teasdale5
35Wilson Fleming4
36Justin Rodbell3
37Darian Sanayei3
38Luke Neese3
39Lance Kobusch1