You are here
Home > MOTOCROSS NEWS EXTRA > AMCA > AMCA aces head to Hawkstone

AMCA aces head to Hawkstone

It’s sand tyres at the ready as this Sunday, July 8th, the AMCA make their annual visit to Hawkstone Park for round 5 of the 2018 British Motocross Championship powered by Datatag and supported by Dunlop. Following the highly competitive action so far, it’s Ashley Greedy (MX1), Josh Coleman (MX2), Richard Cannings (2T), Simon Lane (Vets) and Joseph Brookes (Youth) leading the respective classes and the riders that everyone needs to beat!

In MX1, Greedy on the Andrew Marsh Motors Yamaha has been very consistent, finishing on the podium in all three completed rounds and winning four moto’s along the way. Matching that consistency though is the current second placed rider Josh Waterman on the IDS KTM, also on the podium at every round so far. Last time out, Josh leapfrogged Ryan Crowder in the standings and is now just 33 points off top slot. During the Lower Drayton round, Crowder finished 5th overall and is now coming under serious pressure from the very much inform FUS Marsh MX Husqvarna duo of Shane Carless and James Dodd. With Ray Rowson, Gary Gibson, Jansen Day, Paul Neale and Andrew Smart next in the standings, MX1 is sure to produce some fast, hard charging and spectacular action on the big, old Hawkstone circuit.

Over in MX2, leader Josh Coleman on the LRS/HTF Husqvarna, James Wainwright, Luke Dean, Bradley Tranter and now Lee Truman are all on the injured list. Although the unlucky Dean has ruled himself out for the rest of the season, Tranter has confirmed that he will be back for Hawkstone! At present, Coleman is having extensive treatment on his broken collarbone but if he fails to make the start-line for round 5 then there’s a whole host of fast 250F pilots looking to take control of the Championship. At present the very consistent Lewis King on the LDR TMC Kawasaki sits in 2nd and is just 21 points behind Coleman whilst holding 3rd and on a serious charge its Luke Burton on the FUS Marsh MX Husky, buoyed by a maximum points haul last time out at Lower Drayton. Other riders looking to take full advantage of the injured pilots and thus move up in the MX2 standings are Jack Gardner, Clinton Barrs, Matt Ridgway and Lee Sealey.

At present, Richard Cannings sits 50 points clear at the summit of the 2T class aboard his M&S Brettle Yamaha. So far Cannings has suffered just one defeat due to a misfiring engine during race one at Boraston. Taking that win was Sean Eckersley, the rider who also holds 2nd in the series and has been in great form recording podium places in all three completed rounds. Since the last outing, leader Cannings has had knee surgery so the likes of Eckersley, Jordan Saunders, Bradley Doyle, Jake Parker, Ashley Beniston, James Lane, Danny Lanfear and Ryan Zebedee will be looking to take some advantage and attempt to start reeling RC in!

During the last round of the Vets series, Simon Lane on the JSR Honda not only took the overall win but also moved to the top of the standings. Lane’s advantage though is just 2 points with Terry House in 2nd and certainly prepared to take this particular battle all the way to the final chequered flag of the season. Such is the dominance of the top two that House is already 84 points clear of 3rd placed Sean Smith. Also in the mix at present are Gary Jones, Colin Conduit, Brian Staples, Ste Marlow and Stephen Elford. Having made a comeback at Lower Drayton and finished on the podium, another Vets rider certainly worth watching should be former multiple AMCA Champion and local resident Gary Davies.

Nine moto’s completed in the Youth 85cc/150cc class and Joseph Brookes on the Nationwide Signs KTM has won every clash with Charlie Palmer in 2nd and Matt Tolley in 3rd except on just one occasion when Joshua Fletcher-Williams got the better of Tolley. Although the top three results have been rather predictable, the remainder of the finishing positions have definitely been hotly contested, producing plenty of close, exciting action along the way with the likes of Joshua Main, Reece Leverton, Harry Ridgway, Ben Dutton, Jake O’Gorman and Mitchell Hartill heavily involved.

So Hawkstone Park in Shropshire is the place to be on Sunday, 8th July, postcode SY4 4NA. The circuit will be signposted from the following roads, A49 Shrewsbury to Whitchurch, A53 Shrewsbury to Market Drayton and A442 Telford to Whitchurch. Words and pic by Mike Wood

Leave a Reply