You are here
Home > MOTO HEADLINES > British Racing > Brunell gives Stark first Arenacross win

Brunell gives Stark first Arenacross win

Stark Future’s Jack Brunell scored an emotional win in the Traxxas Pro main event win on Saturday night at Manchester’s packed-out AO Arena for round 2 of the 2024 British Arenacross Championship presented by Fix Auto UK.

Kullas led the final but couldn’t match Brunell’s Stark

History was made as Brunell took the win riding a Stark electric bike, his first Main Event win in the history of the Arenacross series.

In typical AX fashion, the intensely close Main Event podium was rounded out by FUS Marsh Geartec’s Harri Kullas and Mark McCann 64 YouTube Channel’s Dylan Woodcock. Former AMA SX champ Justin Bogle was close to a podium finish when he fell in the main event, dropping back to sixth.

Fans enjoyed an electric atmosphere as tickets sold out at the packed AO Arena, with non-stop drama throughout the evening. But there were several riders injured, including Nev Bradshaw who broke his leg in a crash in practice. Charlie Putnam also crashed in practice and retired from the event.

Mel Pocock and John Adamson go down in one of the heats

Defending Champion Tommy Searle missed the Traxxas Main Event after an altercation with Stark Future’s Eddie Wade left him crashing out of his final heat.  He continued through to the Head to Heads where an unforced error saw him fall in the semi-final.  Damage to Tommy’s hand meant that unfortunately he was unable to compete in the Last Chance Qualifier, ruling him out of qualification for the Traxxas Main Event. X-rays have shown nothing is broken.

Conrad Mewse look set to take the final by storm, winning the first heat and coming from last to second in his second heat. He holeshot but was knocked down by Kullas who later apologised and said it was not a move designed to knock Mewse down. Then in the final, Mewse’s race bike failed before the start he was forced to compete on a brand new spare stock bike for the final. This resulted in him finishing fourth.

Traxxas Pro Main Event Full Result:

1. 155 Jack Brunell            
2. 151 Harri Kullas       
3. 260 Dylan Woodcock    
4. 426 Conrad Mewse
5. 33 Ashley Greedy        
6. 19 Justin Bogle               
7. 407 Adam Chatfield           
8. 211 Jayden Ashwell             
9. 119 Mel Pocock  
10. 44 Elliott Banks-Browne                            
11. 17 Matthew Bayliss
12. 65 James Mackrel
13. 217 Eddie Wade
14. 14 Luke Burton