You are here
Home > MOTOCROSS NEWS EXTRA > Event PR > Ecosse series gets ready for finale

Ecosse series gets ready for finale

The Rock Oil Michelin Ecosse XC Winter MX Championship, supported by Wulfsport and Drysdale Motorcycles, has enjoyed packed gates across all classes in its popular off-season series. The fourth and final round on Sunday the 9th of February is set to see the championship finish on a high.

Entries are now open for round four at the all-weather track at Dunbar on the south east coast of Scotland. Early indications are that the club could be looking to welcome close to 250 competitors contesting the adult, youth and quad categories.

With the exception of Vets rider Tom Grant and Oli Sansom in the Quads, each class in the Ecosse championship has been wide open in terms of front runners. The A group has seen Billy Bolt, John Robson and Ross Rutherford win a round apiece, but it’s the super-consistent Ryan Thomson who leads the championship. Ryan Johnson and Ben Stanley have topped the podium in the B-sector. Connor Wilson and Dylan Grieve have been the ones to beat in the C class, while  Oliver Barr, and Shay Page have headed the Rookies. Over in the youth sector James Barker, Ayden Smith, Billy Askew and Ryan Waggot have figured out front in the big-wheel and small-wheel 85s, with Jamie Prentice, Hayden Statt and Liam Bell doing likewise in the 65s.

The series caters for A, B, C Adult riders, Novice, Vets and then BW/SW 85 and 65s, and also Quads.

In previous rounds, the B and C groups have filled up quickly, with the club operating reserve lists for both groups – the final round will be no different.

Each class will be allocated two early morning practice laps, followed by three races of 12-minutes plus one-lap each. Trophies will be awarded to all classes, and Rock Oil holeshot prizes will also be up for grabs.

The event promises to again provide a fun-filled family weekend, with overnight camping available and food wagons on site. Spectators and competitors can expect to enjoy a non-stop programme of fast and furious racing. The gate is scheduled to drop on the first set of races at 9.00am, and racing will finish within daylight!

Championship leaders;

A. Ryan Thomson 339 points. B. Dean Mackenzie/Ryan Johnson 347 points. C. Barry Smith 354 points. Vets. Tom Grant 397 points. Rookies. Shay Page 395 points. BW85. James Barker 377 points. SW85. Ryan Waggott 390 points. 65s. Jamie Prentice 351 points. Quads. Oli Sansom 405 points.

Entry fees, which include the provision of marshals, are £35 youths and £45 adults. Day licences are available. Enter via Late entries can be taken by calling Mark Ritchie on 07946 494259.