You are here
Home > MOTO HEADLINES > British Racing > Revo British heads to Blaxhall

Revo British heads to Blaxhall

Sunday 8th August will see the Revo ACU British Motocross Championship fuelled by Gulf Race Fuels return to the Blaxhall Circuit in Suffolk, hosted by the Woodbridge and DMCC following its absence in 2020 due to Covid19. The event features a bumper lineup of the country’s best riders competing across four classes.

Local ace Jake Nicholls

This prestigious championship is sure to provide thrills and spills on the spectacular sandy venue just off the A12 when the action starts at 8:45 am with practice and qualifying. The race programme features an exciting lineup of eight races include two 25 minutes plus 1 lap motos for both the MX1 and MX2 classes – and two championship races for the MXY125/250 and Big Wheel 85cc.

For the host club, Woodbridge and DMCC the return of the event is a testament to the standard of the venue, their organisation, which even saw them named as ‘Organiser of the Year’ for the past four events.

In the MX1 class, the battle at the front of the Championship is between reigning champion Tommy Searle (Crendon Fastrack Honda) and Harri Kullas (Cab Screens Crescent Yamaha) who has claimed victory at the previous two rounds and sits just 10 points behind Searle. Former champion Shaun Simpson (SS24 KTM) is in third 28 points of the lead and 1 point ahead of Adam Sterry (Hitachi KTM Fuelled by Milwaukee).

Kullas is on great form

Local interest comes from Ipswich based rider Jake Nicholls (Crendon Fastrack Honda) who will be making his return to the championship following an injury earlier in the season. Nicholls hasn’t competed in a British Championship event at Blaxhall since 2018 when he took a double race win to the delight of the home crowd. Elliott Banks-Browne (Oakleaf 44 Motorsport Honda) from Bury St Edmunds will also be competing and looking for a repeat of his 2018 podium performance where he chased Nicholls home.

Banks-Browne loves the track

Another local rider to look out for is Luke Benstead (GH Motorcycles/GB Finch Husqvarna) who is lightning fast around the Blaxhall Circuit so expect the see the 190-machine battling towards the top 10 at his home round.

Luke Benstead is a local hero

In the MX2 class, 2018 champion Conrad Mewse (Hitachi KTM Fuelled by Milwaukee) leads the standings ahead of former European Champion Steve Clarke (ASA United GASGAS) by 37 points with John Adamson (Gaberial KTM) another 3 points back, while in fourth is Ashton Dickinson (Hitachi KTM Fuelled by Milwaukee).

Local riders to watch out for in the MX2 class include Bury St Edmunds Sam Nunn (Rob Hooper Racing Yamaha), Callum Mitchell (PAR Homes/Stebbings Husqvarna) from Norwich and Tom Grimshaw (Chambers Racing Husqvarna) who will be looking to use their track knowledge at Blaxhall to good advantage and record some impressive results in the two races.

Blaxhall also features the MXY125/250 class wherein the 250cc class Alfie Jones and Jude Morris are separated by just the 1-point heading into Blaxhall. In the 125cc class, Ollie Colmer is 10 points ahead of Bailey Johnston in second.

The final class competing at Blaxhall is the Big Wheel 85cc class featuring some of the future stars of the sport from the UK.  Tyla Hooley currently leads the championship over Ben Mustoe and Billy Askew, but Cambridgeshire Wal Beaney has been in great form recently taking victory at the previous two rounds and will be looking to make it three at Blaxhall.

The event is supported by GH Motorcycles and GB Finch while Foxwood Trade will be sponsoring the Holeshot Award and Steve Lumley Planing Ltd have helped with supporting the venue development.

Blaxhall Circuit is located just off the A12 north of Woodbridge and if using Sat Nav please use the postcode IP17 1LG, the circuit will be signposted from that point. All the action starts at 8:45 am with the Qualifying sessions followed by the first main race at 11:45 am.

Admission prices are £20 for Adults £5 for Children under 15 and Children under 5 are Free, Family Tickets are available at £45. Tickets are currently available online via the Clubs website –