You are here
Home > MOTO HEADLINES > Enduro > Walker wins Red Bull Megawatt

Walker wins Red Bull Megawatt

Brits were on top form at the sandy Red Bull Megawatt in Poland with Jonny Walker taking the win, Graham Jarvis third and first-timer Billy Bolt challenging for a top slot.

Topping Saturday’s Prologue, Jonny Walker showed he was ready to add to his previous Megawatt victories at what has become one of his favourite events on the hard enduro calendar. It wasn’t plain sailing for the Brit however, as a couple of issues slowed his pace towards the end of the race allowing his rivals to close to within almost striking distance near to the finish.

From the start it was KTM mounted Paul Bolton who initially lead. Walker was hot on his heels and the lead changed numerous times before Walker managed to break away from the following pack. Walker built up a commanding two-minute lead after two laps, only for his advantage to be reduced to virtually nothing at the climax of the race.

Walker crossed the finish line 10 seconds ahead of second placed Mario Roman with Graham Jarvis in third.

Walker: “Getting a third Red Bull Megawatt win feels amazing, it certainly helps put the disappointment of Romaniacs and Erzberg behind me. It was a lot closer at the finish than I wanted, but a win is a win so I’m really pleased I was standing on top of the podium. Generally, things went really well – I lead during the first two laps and felt really comfortable.

“I had an issue with my rear mousse on the final lap, so I couldn’t push like I wanted to but half way around the final lap I had more than a one-minute lead. I knew I was going to get caught and I got a little nervous right before the finish, but things worked out good in the end. Thankfully I managed to get through the final rock section and across the finish line ahead of Mario. Megawatt’s been good to me in recent years so to get a third win here is awesome.”

Putting in a steady ride during Saturday’s qualifying event to secure a front row start for Sunday’s main race, Jarvis began the first of three laps inside the top 10.

Building pace and speed as the energy sapping sand took its toll on riders, Jarvis steadily worked his way into contention for a podium result. Picking off competitors with each passing lap, the hugely experienced Husqvarna rider crossed the finish line in third and less than 90 seconds behind the winner.

Making his debut ride in Poland, Billy Bolt faired well in the tough three-lap race. Riding at the sharp end of the field on lap one, a mistake on the final hill climb saw him loose his rhythm and with it a top four position.

Needing a little time to regroup he pushed hard during the final lap to narrowly miss out on sixth position at the chequered flag, eventually finishing seventh.

Graham Jarvis: “It’s a good effort for me to finish third here at Megawatt. I’m not a sand specialist so to claim a podium result is always pleasing. My start wasn’t too great, maybe about top 10 so I had a bit of work to do on the opening lap to catch up. Once a good racing line came in I was able to pick up my pace and find a good rhythm. Unfortunately, at the end Jonny and Mario were just that little bit too far in front to catch them but I’m happy. With Sea to Sky in two weeks time I’m looking forward to it now.”


Billy Bolt: “With it being my first time here I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect. I worked hard before the race to get used to riding in sand but it’s always different to race in. I felt the first lap was good, I was holding fourth before the final climb and then I just got stuck. We all did but I needed an extra run to clear it and that sort of knocked me out of sorts. I had a bad second lap and then found my early speed on the final lap to make up a lot of time. I enjoyed it though and learned a lot.”

The next event on the hard enduro calendar is the Red Bull Sea to Sky held in Turkey on September 28-30th.

Results Red Bull 111 Megawatt 2017 

1. Jonny Walker (GBR), KTM, 2:22:21.66
2. Mario Roman (ESP), Sherco, 2:22:32.51 +10.85
3. Graham Jarvis (GBR), Husqvarna, 2:23:59.59 +1:37.93
4. Alfredo Gomez (ESP), KTM, 2:24:35.46 +2:13.80 
5. Manuel Lettenbichler (GER), KTM, 2:24:59.00 +2:37.34 
Other KTM
6. Paul Bolton (GBR), KTM, 2:28:16.75 +5:55.09
7. David Cyprian (CZE), KTM, 2:35:14.97 +12:53.31
10. Lars Enockl (AUT), KTM, 2:37:55.00 +15:33.34

Leave a Reply