You are here
Home > VIDEOS > How to watch Saturday’s Straight Rhythm

How to watch Saturday’s Straight Rhythm

Red Bull Straight Rhythm returns to Fairplex in Pomona this coming weekend, for the event’s fourth consecutive year, utilizing the same riveting format where practice, qualifying, and racing will all take place on the same day. Additionally, the finals will once again take place at night under the lights making for a spectacular spectator experience.

Red Bull Straight Rhythm, once again featuring head-to-head racing on an “unwound” track, where there are no turns, just a 1/2-mile-long straight rhythm section. Now in its fourth year, the event will continue the new format where practice, qualifying and racing will all take place on the same day, with the finals taking place at night under the lights. With many of the world’s top Supercross and motocross riders expected to return to the competition and with some new changes to be announced shortly, the event looks to be better than ever.

Single-day tickets gives access to practice, qualifying, and the finals. With over 10,000 grandstand seats, plus an infield and paddock, spectators will be treated to a one-of-a-kind experience while watching an all-out, head-to-head sprint to the finish line. For those needing a break from the action, spectators will also have access to the race pits, numerous concessions and side acts throughout the day, offering something for the whole family.

Ken Roczen will host (but not race) the Two-Stroke Shootout, an eight-man, two-stroke-only class. Confirmed riders in that class include four-time Supercross and three-time motocross champion Ryan Villopoto and two-time Supercross and motocross champion Chad Reed. Other riders in the two-stroke class include former AMA 125cc champion Mike Brown, and former Supercross/motocross and current GNCC racer Ryan Sipes.

In addition, the event will once again contain a Lites Class (250cc and below) and an Open Class (greater than 250cc), and this year these classes will contain eight riders each. In the Open Class, the riders announced include recent MEC winner and 2016 Red Bull Straight Rhythm Open Class Champion Marvin Musquin, his Red Bull KTM team-mate Broc Tickle, returning racer Josh Hansen and 2016 AMA EnduroCross National Champion Colton Haaker. The Lites Class will feature 2016 Red Bull Straight Rhythm Lites Champion Shane McElrath, 2016 third-place finisher Jordon Smith, Alex Martin, and Josh Hill. Hill will be on the Alta Motors Redshift MX electric bike.

Watch live right here

Leave a Reply