You are here
Home > MOTO HEADLINES > Fontanesi takes title No.5 after GP controversy

Fontanesi takes title No.5 after GP controversy

The finale of the Women’s Motocross World Championship was the first race to finish this weekend and MXFONTARACING Syneco’s Kiara Fontanesi from Italy was crowned champion for the 5th time in unpredictable fashion. Weather has played a strong role in the championship this season and this weekend was no exception as riders had to race in the wet conditions. The championship was as tight as ever coming into the weekend with only 5 points between the top 4, including Team One One Four’s Livia Lancelot in her final professional race, but in the end the best all around rider proved to be Kiara Fontanesi as she took not only the championship but the overall as well.

As WMX Race 1 started on a near perfect circuit many eyes were on the 4 Championship Contenders of Nancy Van de Ven, Kiara FontanesiLivia Lancelot, and Altherm JCR Yamaha’s Courtney Duncan.

In the early stages of the first race Fontanesi led Van de ven Duncan and Lancelot. Duncan made a quick move on the second lap to take over 2nd but would fall on the following lap. As the rain poured the Women kept battling in epic fashion.

Lancelot now in third, was charging to the catch Van de Ven for second but unfortunately fell as she tried to pass down the inside of the start straight. Lancelot fall came just after Fontanesi fell out the lead and back to 4th. All the while Courtney Duncan made her way to the front, passing three riders in one lap.

Duncan led the following 6 laps before a large crash on the uphill section involving downed back markers caught her off guard and she fell as well. Fontanesi took over the lead as she made her way through the pile up and Duncan rejoined in 6th position, after taking another run at the hill, which is where she would finish.

After a Race Direction meeting had the chance to consider the TV Footage, the original results from WMX Race 1 prevailed which was a win for MXFONTARACING Syneco’s Kiara Fontanesi, a second for Nancy Van de ven who maintained the points lead, and a third for Team One One Four’s Livia Lancelot.

Fontanesi took the race win after a difficult morning of feeling ill and went into Sunday with added confidence.

Race 2 was the first of on the track after overnight rain and it would again be amazing. Courtney Duncan came back on a mission and jumped out to the early lead with Lancelot and Van de Ven in tow.

For seven of the ten laps the top three remained the same which would have resulted in the championship for Van de Ven. However it wasn’t meant to be as Van de Ven got stuck and later fell on the uphill step, Van de Ven was passed by Larissa Papenmeier losing the points she desperately needed.

Courtney Duncan took the win ahead of Livia Lancelot and Fontanesi after lapping every rider but second place. In the championship Fontanesi beat out Lancelot by a single point for the title and Duncan took third.

Throughout the season Kiara has had a series of ups and down starting in Indonesia where she struggled in race one but came back to finish second in race 2. If Kiara had a difficult race it was always paired with an impressive one, through determination and resilience she has shown the heart of a champion and again ends the year on top of the standings. Congrats Kiara from the entire MXGP paddock on a hard fought season and 5th World Championship.

WMX Race 1 Top Ten: 1. Kiara Fontanesi (ITA, Yamaha), 26:14.030; 2. Nancy Van De Ven (NED, Yamaha), +0:26.646; 3. Livia Lancelot (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:49.100; 4. Amandine Verstappen (BEL, KTM), +1:16.439; 5. Larissa Papenmeier (GER, Suzuki), +1:23.239; 6. Courtney Duncan (NZL, Yamaha), +2:07.722; 7. Jessie Joineau (FRA, Honda), -1 lap(s); 8. Madison Brown (AUS, Yamaha), -1 lap(s); 9. Justine Charroux (FRA, Yamaha), -1 lap(s); 10. Virginie Germond (SUI, Yamaha), -1 lap(s).

WMX Race 2 Top Ten: 1. Courtney Duncan (NZL, Yamaha), 27:36.604; 2. Livia Lancelot (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:46.824; 3. Kiara Fontanesi (ITA, Yamaha), -1 lap(s); 4. Larissa Papenmeier (GER, Suzuki), -1 lap(s); 5. Nancy Van De Ven (NED, Yamaha), -3 lap(s); 6. Amandine Verstappen (BEL, KTM), -3 lap(s); 7. Mathilde Martinez (FRA, Husqvarna), -3 lap(s); 8. Virginie Germond (SUI, Yamaha), -3 lap(s); 9. Francesca Nocera (ITA, Suzuki), -4 lap(s); 10. Anne Borchers (GER, Suzuki), -5 lap(s).

WMX Overall Top Ten: 1. Kiara Fontanesi (ITA, YAM), 45 points; 2. Livia Lancelot (FRA, KAW), 42 p.; 3. Courtney Duncan (NZL, YAM), 40 p.; 4. Nancy Van De Ven (NED, YAM), 38 p.; 5. Larissa Papenmeier (GER, SUZ), 34 p.; 6. Amandine Verstappen (BEL, KTM), 33 p.; 7. Virginie Germond (SUI, YAM), 24 p.; 8. Mathilde Martinez (FRA, HUS), 23 p.; 9. Justine Charroux (FRA, YAM), 21 p.; 10. Anne Borchers (GER, SUZ), 16 p.

WMX Championship Top Ten: 1. Kiara Fontanesi (ITA, YAM), 233 points; 2. Livia Lancelot (FRA, KAW), 232 p.; 3. Courtney Duncan (NZL, YAM), 231 p.; 4. Nancy Van De Ven (NED, YAM), 231 p.; 5. Larissa Papenmeier (GER, SUZ), 194 p.; 6. Amandine Verstappen (BEL, KTM), 184 p.; 7. Nicky van Wordragen (NED, YAM), 119 p.; 8. Francesca Nocera (ITA, SUZ), 95 p.; 9. Virginie Germond (SUI, YAM), 94 p.; 10. Shana van der Vlist (NED, KTM), 89 p.

WMX Manufacturers: 1. Yamaha, 291 points; 2. Kawasaki, 232 p.; 3. Suzuki, 201 p.; 4. KTM, 196 p.; 5. Honda, 60 p.; 6. Husqvarna, 50 p.


Leave a Reply