You are here
Home > MOTO HEADLINES > Enduro > Watson takes first EnduroGP win

Watson takes first EnduroGP win

Following just five days after the GP of Hungary, the Greek Enduro GP  saw riders battle against soaring temperatures, long and dry enduro and motocross special tests and a short, technical extreme test.
Enjoying his best GP of the year so far, Nathan Watson again showed impressive pace to finish with a well-deserved 2-1 result EnduroGP class result. Runner-up to EnduroGP championship leader and fellow Brit Steve Holcombe on day one, Nathan completed a hugely impressive second day to finish 23 seconds ahead of his British rival and earn his first EnduroGP class day win. In the EnduroGP championship standings Watson is in fourth.

Ex-MXGP rider Watson said: “Winning on day two here in Greece is a great way to end the back-to-back GPs we’ve had in Hungary and Greece. Hungary was a turning point for me – before that it seemed like I’d had nothing but bad luck. I carried a lot of confidence into this weekend and made a good start to the first day. I won several tests, and although I struggled a little on the extreme test I finished second, like I did on day two in Hungary. I feel really good, really comfortable on my bike, and I’ve got my confidence back. Day two went well. I still wasn’t overly comfortable on the extreme test, but I managed to stay ahead during the day and get my first EnduroGP class win of the year.”

Next Round: July 21-23, 2017 – EnduroGP of Portugal

Results – 2017 FIM Enduro World Championship, Round 5

Day 1

1. Steve Holcombe (Beta) 57:55:56
2. Nathan Watson (KTM)58:07:95
3. Loic Larrieu (Yamaha) 58:40:54
4. Alex Salvini (Beta) 58:49:59
5. Christophe Nambotin (KTM) 58:56:02
6. Jaume Betriu (KTM) 58:56:24

Enduro 2
1. Josep Garcia (KTM) 58:08:51
2. Jamie McCanney (Yamaha) 58:26:85
3. Davide Guarneri (Honda) 58:29:82
4. Pascal Rauchenecker (Husqvarna) 58:55:91
5. Eero Remes (TM) 59:14:72
9. Daniel Sanders (KTM) 59:46:53

Day 2

1. Nathan Watson (KTM) 56:54:99
2. Steve Holcombe (Beta) 57:18:76
3. Loic Larrieu (Yamaha) 57:24:92
4. Alex Salvini (Beta) 57:27:31
5. Jaume Betriu (KTM) 57:30:48
9. Christophe Nambotin (KTM) 58:41:81

Enduro 2
1. Jamie McCanney (Yamaha) 57:08:73
2. Josep Garcia (KTM) 57:17:72
3. Davide Guarneri (Honda) 57:32:57
4. Eero Remes (TM) 57:45:44
5. Pascal Rauchenecker (Husqvarna) 57:52:92
8. Daniel Sanders (KTM) 58:28:54

Championship Standings (After Round 5)

1. Steve Holcombe (Beta) 214
2. Loic Larrieu (Yamaha) 186
3. Christophe Nambotin (KTM) 169
4. Nathan Watson (KTM) 164
5. Matt Phillips (Sherco) 160
9. Jaume Betriu (KTM) 108

Enduro 2
1. Josep Garcia (KTM) 223 points
2. Jamie McCanney (Yamaha) 211
3. Eero Remes (TM) 199
4. Pascal Rauchenecker (Husqvarna) 170
5. Danny McCanney (Husqvarna) 139
6. Daniel Sanders (KTM) 127
13. Rudy Moroni (KTM) 57
23. Lars Enockl (KTM) 10

Leave a Reply