You are here
Home > MOTOCROSS NEWS EXTRA > AMCA > Will Whatley be the new AMCA champ?

Will Whatley be the new AMCA champ?

With new riders such as Kristian Whatley and Nev Bradshaw, new teams, new classes and a series extended to 10 rounds, the eagerly anticipated 2019 AMCA British Motocross Championship is ready for lift off. Hosting round one of this title chase powered by Datatag and supported by Dunlop on Sunday, March 31st are the Mid Cheshire MXC at Norley in Cheshire and what an opener it promises to be! Entries have been flooding in for all classes resulting in the need for on the day qualification. In a rider list bulging with quality, joining the 2019 AMCA family and hoping for a shot at glory are no other than the likes of ex-UK Supercross champ Neville Bradshaw (MX1) and former British MX1 champ Kristian Whatley (MX2).

The AMCA smokers blast off!

The first new class comes in MX2 where the high flying 250F pilots will line-up alongside the 250cc 2T aces. On the four bangers the charge could be led by Jamie Wainwright, Josh Coleman, returning from injury, Clinton Barrs, Luke Dean, Jansen Day, Matt Ridgway, Lee Sealey and Henry Williams joined by Ryan Crowder dropping down from MX1. Campaigning the two-smokers there’s the 2018 AMCA 2T Champion Richard Cannings, Bradley Doyle, Sean Eckersley, Bradley Tranter, Mark Young and Lee Truman who has switched from four-stroke to 2T power.

New class number two is the 2T 125cc contest which as attracted a high level of interest. Not only is this particular group very intriguing but could also well produce some of the most unpredictable and exciting racing! With young, keen talented lads going up against more experienced older riders picking any potential glory hunters appears rather difficult! The early lists includes Chris Povey, Ryan Zebedee, Harry Clarke and Callum Evans, riders who have already displayed their skills in previous AMCA Championship racing but it literally appears to be a case of just wait and watch events unfold! Let the battle commence!

Despite switching from KTM to Yamaha machinery during the winter, defending AMCA MX1 Champion Josh Waterman still looks like to man to beat in the 2019 big bike class which is full of fast aces. Hunting him down though are a whole host of fast charging contenders including the likes of James Dodd now back aboard his beloved Honda machinery and recent winner of the Superclass event, Welsh duo Shane Carless and Ashley Greedy, Irish ace Gary Gibson, Luke Mellows, Ashley Thomas, Andrew Smart, Luke Meredith, Sean Wainwright, Luke Bull and Cory McShane moving up from the 2018 MX2 class.

After winning the 2018 AMCA Vets title, Simon Lane has since formed his own, new race team, a set-up which includes his brother James Lane. And in 2019 the Lane boys are due to go head to head for glory with James now having passed that magical milestone of a 40th birthday! Also joining the Vets in 2019 are AMCA stalwart Craig Chamberlain, now incredibly entering his 24th Championship campaign and former top AMCA and IMBA European Championship contender Jamie Powell. Going again in 2019 after being top ten Vets contenders last season are Colin Conduit, Sean Smith, Brian Staples, Paul Wieczorek and John Heath.

Joseph Brookes was a very worthy winner of the 2018 AMCA Youth 85cc/1500cc Championship and this extremely talented lad is determined to defend his hard earned crown again in 2019. Joseph will once again face the likes of Harry Ridgway, Jake O’Gorman, Joshua Flecther-Williams and a whole host of new challengers. It’s pleasing to see just about a full start gate in this class but Brookes will certainly be a very tough nut to crack!

So with the scene set for what promises to be a highly entertaining and epic series, it’s time for the talking to stop and the action to commence in the race for 2019 AMCA British Championship glory. Norley in Cheshire is the place to be, postcode WA6 6LJ and signposted off the A49.

Words and pic by Mike Wood

Leave a Reply