You are here
Home > MOTOCROSS NEWS EXTRA > FMX > FMX world series finale!

FMX world series finale!

The best riders from NIGHT of the JUMPs will be ready to fly at the World Championship final in Poland in the last round of the FIM series in the Ergo Arena, Gdansk in Poland at the weekend.

 The new 2016 World Champion has already been crowned with Maikel Melero winning in spectacular fashion at the previous round in Shenzhen, China and Rob Adelberg clinching enough points to finish with the Silver medal overall for the season. This leaves a battle for the Bronze medal in Gdansk.

In the overall ranking, Petr Pilat (CZE) is eight points ahead of Remi Bizouard (FRA). However, in the last World Cup contest of the season, the lowest score of the season is deducted. Taking this into consideration, the Czech rider is only a fraction behind the Frenchman. With his unique and technical backflip combinations, Pilat had already won over the fans and judges in Riga and Shenzhen to fight his way up to battle with Bizouard in the final. Now, Pilat will need to ride with every ounce of energy he has to claim a spot on the World Championship podium. However, Remi Bizouard is a 3-time World Champion and will bring everything he has to the final round to make sure he can hold onto another podium finish for his career.

The Polish flag will be raised for the local rider Marcin Lukaszczyk (POL). The Diverse team rider has never made it into a NIGHT of the JUMPs final and will be pushing as hard as possible to make it in the final round of 2016.

The visitors to the Ergo Arena can look forward to an exciting newcomer also. Ryan Brown from Australia will be celebrating his debut at the Polish round of NIGHT of the JUMPs. He has taken the place of the injured Spaniard Marc Pinyol and also has equally spectacular tricks in his repertoire.

Hannes Ackermann will be representing Germany, with Russia being represented by Nikolay Ivankov who crashed spectacularly in NIGHT of the Jumps in Riga, but is able to return to competition. Leonardo Fini from Italy and Brice Izzo (FRA) are completing the rider field for the final event of the year.

Leave a Reply